CCollege Tracker
CollegesCompareMy listProfilePricing
Get started

Data comes from official Common Data Sets and admissions websites. Always confirm on the college's own site before applying.

S

Harvard University

Cambridge, MA · Private · urban · semester calendar

Website ↗Admissions ↗
Add your scores on the Colleges page to see your fit.
Admit rate
4.2%
2,003 of 47,893
ED admit rate
—
not reported
International admit rate
—
not reported
Undergraduates
6,738
16.0% international
Student : faculty
11 : 1
Waitlist
75 admitted

Common Data Set 2025-2026[1] · Average GPA reported as 4.22 (likely weighted despite the CDS 4.0-scale instruction). SAT composite percentiles left blank in the CDS; only section scores reported. Waitlist offered/accepted not reported. Restrictive early action 11/1 → 12/16.

Test scores (enrolled first-years)

Test requiredfor 2026-27 applicants[2]

SAT or ACT required; AP/IB/A-level etc. accepted only when SAT/ACT are not accessible.

Test25th50th75th
SAT reading & writing720750770
SAT math730770790
ACT composite333535
ACT math313435
ACT English343536

Submitted SAT: 79% · Submitted ACT: 27% of enrolled first-years

High-school GPA

Average (CDS C12)
4.22
Estimated 25th / 50th / 75th*
4.00 / 4.00 / 4.00
4.0
74.7%
3.75-3.99
20.4%
3.50-3.74
3.5%
3.25-3.49
1.0%
3.00-3.24
0.2%
2.50-2.99
0.2%
2.0-2.49
0.1%

*The CDS does not publish GPA percentiles; estimated from the C11 band distribution. 99% of enrolled students reported a GPA.

Deadlines (2026-27 cycle)

  1. Nov 1, 2026Restrictive Early Action[3]
    Decision: mid-December
  2. Jan 1, 2027Regular Decision[3]

English proficiency (international applicants)

Not required[4]

Not required for first-year applicants; scores may be submitted. English tests cannot satisfy the SAT/ACT requirement.

TOEFL iBT moved to a 1–6 scale on Jan 21, 2026; schools list both scales.

Application requirements

Platform
Common App
Application fee
Fee waiver available
Essays
5 required short answers, 150 words each
Recommendations
2 teacher + counselor
Interview
—
Portfolio
—
Midyear report
Required

Optional supplementary materials (music, art, academic work) may be reviewed by faculty.

2026-27 cycle[2]

Cost & aid (2026-2027)

Tuition
$62,226
Required fees
$6,216
Housing & food
$23,192
For international students
Need-blind, meets full need
805 international students received aid, average $83,013 (CDS H6)

Housing $14,250 + food $8,942. Transportation $0–5,000 extra.; CDS G1 cost fields left blank by Harvard; see financial aid site. H6: need-based aid available to nonresidents.

Source[5]

Subject tiers & how majors are admitted

AComputer Science
BEngineering
—Business
SBiology / Life Sci
SPre-Med
SEconomics
SMath / Physics
SHumanities

What the admissions office weighs (CDS C7, 2025-2026)

Very important
    Important
      Considered
      • Rigor of HS record
      • Academic GPA
      • Test scores
      • Essay
      • Recommendations
      • Interview
      • Extracurriculars
      • Talent / ability
      • Character
      • First generation
      • Alumni relation
      • Geography
      • Volunteer work
      • Work experience
      Not considered
      • Class rank
      • State residency
      • Religious affiliation
      • Demonstrated interest

      Sources

      1. [1]Harvard University Common Data Set 2025-2026accessed Oct 20, 2026
      2. [2]Harvard College — Application Requirementsaccessed Oct 20, 2026
      3. [3]Harvard College — First-Year Applicantsaccessed Oct 20, 2026
      4. [4]Harvard College — International Applicantsaccessed Oct 20, 2026
      5. [5]Harvard College — How Aid Works (cost of attendance)accessed Oct 20, 2026
      6. [6]Score-reporting codes (college.harvard.edu)accessed Oct 20, 2026
      ← All colleges
      AArts / Design
      —Nursing
      • All concentrations
        Admitted to the university; choose major later · Switching in later: Open
        Concentration declared in sophomore year.

      Tiers and major-admission summaries are an editorial v0 — review before relying on them.