CCollege Tracker
CollegesCompareMy listProfilePricing
Get started

Data comes from official Common Data Sets and admissions websites. Always confirm on the college's own site before applying.

S

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Cambridge, MA · Private · urban · 4-1-4 calendar

Website ↗Admissions ↗
Add your scores on the Colleges page to see your fit.
Admit rate
4.6%
1,334 of 29,281
ED admit rate
—
not reported
International admit rate
—
not reported
Undergraduates
4,561
11.6% international
Student : faculty
8 : 1
Waitlist
10 admitted
of 561 offered

Common Data Set 2025-2026[1] · MIT reports GPA as N/Av in C11/C12. Residency breakdown of applicants not reported.

Test scores (enrolled first-years)

Test requiredfor 2026-27 applicants[2]

SAT or ACT required. Take tests before Nov 30 (EA) / Dec 31 (RA).

Test25th50th75th
SAT total152015501570
SAT reading & writing740760780
SAT math780790800
ACT composite343535
ACT math343536
ACT English343536

Submitted SAT: 83% · Submitted ACT: 31% of enrolled first-years

High-school GPA

This college does not report GPA in its Common Data Set.

Deadlines (2026-27 cycle)

  1. Nov 1, 2026Early Action[2]
    Decision: mid-December
  2. Jan 4, 2027Regular ActionRD[2]
    Decision: mid-March
  3. Jan 31, 2027English proficiency test (RA) taken byother[2]

English proficiency (international applicants)

Recommended[3]

Strongly recommended if you have used English for fewer than five years or do not speak English at home or in school.

TestMinimumRecommendedNotes
TOEFL iBT[3]90100Tests taken before 2026-01-21
TOEFL iBT (1–6 scale, from Jan 2026)[3]55.51–6 scale, tests taken on/after 2026-01-21
IELTS Academic[3]77.5
PTE Academic[3]6570
Cambridge C1/C2 (scale)[3]185190C1 Advanced or C2 Proficiency
Duolingo English Test

Cost & aid (2026-2027)

Tuition
$66,720
Required fees
$420
Housing & food
$22,194
For international students
Need-blind, meets full need
411 international students received aid, average $81,991 (CDS H6)

CDS G1 food & housing on-campus. H6: institutional need-based aid available to nonresidents (2025-26 estimated).

Source[1]

Subject tiers & how majors are admitted

SComputer Science
SEngineering
SBusiness
SBiology / Life Sci
APre-Med
SEconomics
SMath / Physics
B

What the admissions office weighs (CDS C7, 2025-2026)

Very important
  • Character
Important
  • Rigor of HS record
  • Academic GPA
  • Test scores
  • Essay
  • Recommendations
  • Interview
  • Extracurriculars
  • Talent / ability
Considered
  • Class rank
  • First generation
  • Geography
  • Volunteer work
  • Work experience
Not considered
  • Alumni relation
  • State residency
  • Religious affiliation
  • Demonstrated interest

Sources

  1. [1]MIT Common Data Set 2025-26accessed Oct 20, 2026
  2. [2]MIT Admissions — Deadlines & requirementsaccessed Oct 20, 2026
  3. [3]MIT Admissions — Tests & scoresaccessed Oct 20, 2026
  4. [4]Score-reporting codes (mitadmissions.org)accessed Oct 20, 2026
← All colleges
[3]
120
125

TOEFL iBT moved to a 1–6 scale on Jan 21, 2026; schools list both scales.

Application requirements

Platform
School's own application
Application fee
$75 (waiver available)
Essays
Several short-answer essays in the MIT application
Recommendations
2 teacher + counselor
Interview
By invitation / when available
Portfolio
—

Recommend one math/science and one humanities/social science/language teacher. Interviews offered by Educational Counselors when available.

2026-27 cycle[2]

Humanities
BArts / Design
—Nursing
  • All majors
    Admitted to the university; choose major later · Switching in later: Open
    Students are admitted to MIT, not a major, and declare at the end of first year.

Tiers and major-admission summaries are an editorial v0 — review before relying on them.