CCollege Tracker
CollegesCompareMy listProfilePricing
Get started

Data comes from official Common Data Sets and admissions websites. Always confirm on the college's own site before applying.

A

New York University

New York, NY · Private · urban · semester calendar

Website ↗Admissions ↗
Add your scores on the Colleges page to see your fit.
Admit rate
9.1%
10,340 of 114,125
ED admit rate
—
not reported
International admit rate
—
not reported
Undergraduates
29,471
25.6% international
Student : faculty
12 : 1
Waitlist
—

Common Data Set 2025-2026[5] · ED I 11/1 → 12/15; ED II 1/1 → 2/15; no EA. NYU does not report waitlist or ED applicant counts. For portfolio/audition programs artistic talent is Very Important.

Test scores (enrolled first-years)

Test optionalfor 2026-27 applicants[2]

Test-optional through the 2027-28 cycle; flexible policy (submit one form of testing). SAT/ACT superscored.

Test25th50th75th
SAT total148015201550
SAT reading & writing730750770
SAT math750780790
ACT composite343535

Submitted SAT: 27% · Submitted ACT: 10% of enrolled first-years

High-school GPA

Average (CDS C12)
3.81
Estimated 25th / 50th / 75th*
3.71 / 3.85 / 3.96
4.0
17.2%
3.75-3.99
54.7%
3.50-3.74
21.4%
3.25-3.49
5.2%
3.00-3.24
1.0%
2.50-2.99
0.4%
2.0-2.49
0.1%

*The CDS does not publish GPA percentiles; estimated from the C11 band distribution. 100% of enrolled students reported a GPA.

Deadlines (2026-27 cycle)

  1. Nov 1, 2026Early Decision IED[1]
    Decision: Dec 15, 2026
  2. Jan 1, 2027Early Decision IIED2[1]
    Decision: Feb 15, 2027
  3. Jan 5, 2027Regular Decision[1]
    Decision: Apr 1, 2027

English proficiency (international applicants)

Required for non-native speakers[3]

TestMinimumRecommendedNotes
TOEFL iBT[3]100—Taken on or before 2026-01-20
TOEFL iBT (1–6 scale, from Jan 2026)[3]5—
Subscores: each section 5+
Duolingo English Test[3]135—
IELTS Academic[3]7.5—
PTE Academic[3]70—

TOEFL iBT moved to a 1–6 scale on Jan 21, 2026; schools list both scales.

Application requirements

Platform

Cost & aid (2026-2027)

Tuition
$68,574
Housing & food
$25,250
For international students
Need-aware, limited aid
342 international students received aid, average $36,562 (CDS H6)

CDS G1 (2026-27). Tuition & fees vary by school — e.g. Stern $70,464, Tisch $75,326 (NYU cost-of-attendance page). H6: need-based and non-need-based aid available to nonresidents.; NYU Promise: 100% of demonstrated need met for first-year students admitted to the New York campus.

Source[5]

Subject tiers & how majors are admitted

BComputer Science
CEngineering
SBusiness
BBiology / Life Sci
BPre-Med
AEconomics
AMath / Physics
A

What the admissions office weighs (CDS C7, 2025-2026)

Very important
  • Rigor of HS record
  • Academic GPA
  • Essay
  • Recommendations
  • Character
Important
  • Test scores
Considered
  • Extracurriculars
  • Talent / ability
  • First generation
  • Geography
  • Volunteer work
  • Work experience
  • Demonstrated interest
Not considered
  • Class rank
  • Interview
  • Alumni relation
  • State residency
  • Religious affiliation

Tip Demonstrated interest counts here — visit, attend info sessions, and open their emails.

Sources

  1. [1]NYU — First-Year Applicantsaccessed Oct 20, 2026
  2. [2]NYU — Standardized Testsaccessed Oct 20, 2026
  3. [3]NYU — English Language Testingaccessed Oct 20, 2026
  4. [4]NYU — Cost of Attendance 2026-27accessed Oct 20, 2026
  5. [5]NYU Common Data Set 2025-2026 (final, incl. section G, July 2026)accessed Oct 20, 2026
← All colleges
Common App
Application fee
$100
Essays
—
Recommendations
—
Interview
—
Portfolio
—

2026-27 cycle[1]

Humanities
SArts / Design
ANursing
  • Stern School of BusinessBusinessCapped
    Admitted to a school / college · Switching in later: Very hard
  • Tisch School of the ArtsArts / DesignCapped
    Admitted to a school / college · Switching in later: Very hard
    Portfolio/audition required.
  • Tandon School of EngineeringEngineering
    Admitted to a school / college · Switching in later: Moderate
  • College of Arts & Science
    Admitted to a school / college · Switching in later: Moderate

Tiers and major-admission summaries are an editorial v0 — review before relying on them.