S
Add your scores on the Colleges page to see your fit.
Admit rate
3.8%
2,302 of 60,646
ED admit rate
—
not reported
International admit rate
—
not reported
Undergraduates
7,346
13.1% international
Student : faculty
10 : 1
Waitlist
57 admitted
of 669 offered
Common Data Set 2025-2026[1] · Restrictive early action (no ED). CDS C22 lists EA closing 11/1, notification 12/15.
Test scores (enrolled first-years)
Test requiredfor 2026-27 applicants[1]
CDS C8A: SAT or ACT required for admission.
| Test | 25th | 50th | 75th |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT total | 1520 | 1550 | 1570 |
| SAT reading & writing | 750 | 760 | 780 |
| SAT math | 770 | 790 | 800 |
| ACT composite | 34 | 35 | 36 |
| ACT math | 33 | 35 | 36 |
| ACT English | 35 | 35 | 36 |
Submitted SAT: 56% · Submitted ACT: 21% of enrolled first-years
High-school GPA
Average (CDS C12)
3.94
Estimated 25th / 50th / 75th*
3.97 / 4.00 / 4.00
4.0
73.0%
3.75-3.99
16.2%
3.50-3.74
7.9%
3.25-3.49
2.9%
3.00-3.24
0.1%
*The CDS does not publish GPA percentiles; estimated from the C11 band distribution. 70% of enrolled students reported a GPA.
Deadlines (2026-27 cycle)
- Decision: by mid-December
- Decision: by mid-December
- Decision: by early April
- Decision: by early April
- May 1, 2027Student reply datedeposit
English proficiency (international applicants)
Not required[4]
No English proficiency exam required; scores from any exam may be self-reported. Fluency in English is a prerequisite.
TOEFL iBT moved to a 1–6 scale on Jan 21, 2026; schools list both scales.
Application requirements
- Platform
- Common App
- Application fee
- $100 (waiver available)
- Essays
- —
- Recommendations
- 2 teacher + counselor
- Interview
- —
- Portfolio
- Optional arts portfolio (earlier deadlines)
2026-27 cycle[3]
Cost & aid (2026-2027)
- Tuition
- $67,731
- Required fees
- $843
- Housing & food
- $22,944
For international students
Need-aware, meets full need
260 international students received aid, average $85,424 (CDS H6)
CDS H6: need-based and non-need-based institutional aid available to nonresidents.
Source[1]
Subject tiers & how majors are admitted
SComputer Science
SEngineering
—Business
SBiology / Life Sci
SPre-Med
SEconomics
SMath / Physics
SHumanities
A
What the admissions office weighs (CDS C7, 2025-2026)
Very important
- Rigor of HS record
- Class rank
- Academic GPA
- Test scores
- Essay
- Recommendations
- Extracurriculars
- Talent / ability
- Character
Important
Considered
- Interview
- First generation
- Alumni relation
- Geography
- Volunteer work
- Work experience
Not considered
- State residency
- Religious affiliation
- Demonstrated interest
Sources
- [1]Stanford Common Data Set 2025-2026accessed Oct 20, 2026
- [2]Stanford — First-Year Applicantsaccessed Oct 20, 2026
- [3]Stanford — Transcript, School Report, and Recommendationsaccessed Oct 20, 2026
- [4]Stanford — International Applicants FAQaccessed Oct 20, 2026
- [5]Score-reporting codes (admit.stanford.edu)accessed Oct 20, 2026