CCollege Tracker
CollegesCompareMy listProfilePricing
Get started

Data comes from official Common Data Sets and admissions websites. Always confirm on the college's own site before applying.

A

University of California, Berkeley

Berkeley, CA · Public · urban · semester calendar

Website ↗Admissions ↗
Add your scores on the Colleges page to see your fit.
Admit rate
10.5%
13,992 of 133,157
ED admit rate
—
not reported
International admit rate
—
not reported
Undergraduates
33,122
9.8% international
Student : faculty
—
Waitlist
—

Admissions-site figures[2] · Fall 2026 entry, from admissions student profile. Middle 50% of admits: unweighted GPA 3.90–4.00, weighted 4.36–4.72. 74% from public schools, 23% first generation.

Test scores (enrolled first-years)

Test blindfor 2026-27 applicants

UC does not use SAT/ACT in admission decisions.

Test-blind — no SAT/ACT data is used or reported.

High-school GPA

This college does not report GPA in its Common Data Set.

Deadlines (2026-27 cycle)

  1. Nov 30, 2026UC filing period closesRD[3]
    Filing period Oct 1 – Nov 30. No early plans.
  2. May 1, 2027Statement of Intent to Register (SIR)deposit[3]

English proficiency (international applicants)

Required for non-native speakers[5]

Required if all secondary school was in a country where English is not the language of instruction. IB English A (SL 6–7 / HL 5–7) also satisfies it.

TestMinimumRecommendedNotes
TOEFL iBT[5]80—Before January 2026
TOEFL iBT (1–6 scale, from Jan 2026)[5]4.5—
IELTS Academic[5]6.5—
Duolingo English Test[5]115—

TOEFL iBT moved to a 1–6 scale on Jan 21, 2026; schools list both scales.

Application requirements

Platform
UC Application
Application fee
$80 (waiver available)
Essays
4 Personal Insight Questions (choose 4 of 8)
Recommendations

Cost & aid (2026-2027)

Tuition (in-state)
$18,214
Tuition (out-of-state)
$57,484
Tuition (international)
$57,484
Housing & food
$16,640
Total cost of attendance
$54,674
For international students
Need-aware, limited aid

Tuition & fees for the newest cohort; nonresidents (incl. international) add Nonresident Supplemental Tuition of $39,270. Housing in a residence hall; health insurance $5,066 extra. Total shown is the California-resident cost of attendance.; International students can't get federal, state or general need-based university aid, but are automatically considered for a few institutional scholarships (Regents' & Chancellor's, Robinson International Scholars, International Leaders, Swaniker Scholars).

Source[6]

Subject tiers & how majors are admitted

SComputer Science
SEngineering
SBusiness
SBiology / Life Sci
APre-Med
SEconomics

Sources

  1. [1]UC Berkeley Common Data Set 2025-2026 (Google Sheets)accessed Oct 20, 2026
  2. [2]Berkeley Admissions — Student Profile (data as of 8/2026)accessed Oct 20, 2026
  3. [3]UC Admissions — First-year Dates & Deadlinesaccessed Oct 20, 2026
  4. [4]UC Admissions — Apply now (fees)accessed Oct 20, 2026
  5. [5]UC Admissions — English language proficiencyaccessed Oct 20, 2026
  6. [6]Berkeley Financial Aid — Student Budgets 2026-27accessed Oct 20, 2026
  7. [7]UC Berkeley Quick Facts (Office of Planning & Analysis)accessed Oct 20, 2026
  8. [8]
← All colleges
0 teacher
Interview
—
Portfolio
—

Fee is $95 for international applicants.

2026-27 cycle[4]

SMath / Physics
AHumanities
BArts / Design
—Nursing
  • EECS (College of Engineering)Computer ScienceCapped
    Admitted directly to the major · Switching in later: Very hard
  • Computer Science (L&S)Computer Science
    Pre-major; competitive entry later · Switching in later: Hard
    Declared after completing prerequisite courses with a minimum GPA.
  • Haas Business (direct-admit tracks)BusinessCapped
    Pre-major; competitive entry later · Switching in later: Very hard

Tiers and major-admission summaries are an editorial v0 — review before relying on them.

Berkeley — Scholarship Opportunities for International Students
accessed Oct 20, 2026
  • [9]Score-reporting codes (admissions.berkeley.edu)accessed Oct 20, 2026
  • [10]Score-reporting codes (ceu.berkeley.edu)accessed Oct 20, 2026