CCollege Tracker
CollegesCompareMy listProfilePricing
Get started

Data comes from official Common Data Sets and admissions websites. Always confirm on the college's own site before applying.

B

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Champaign, IL · Public · urban · semester calendar

Website ↗Admissions ↗
Add your scores on the Colleges page to see your fit.
Admit rate
36.6%
30,384 of 83,045
ED admit rate
—
not reported
International admit rate
—
not reported
Undergraduates
38,572
14.0% international
Student : faculty
20 : 1
Waitlist
1 admitted
of 6,826 offered

Common Data Set 2025-2026[1] · UIUC does not report GPA in C11/C12. Residency breakdown in the CDS contains spreadsheet errors (#REF!) and is not used. EA closes 11/1, notification 1/30; no ED. Application fee $50 domestic / $75 international.

Test scores (enrolled first-years)

Test optionalfor 2026-27 applicants[1]

CDS C8A (Fall 2027): not required, considered if submitted.

Test25th50th75th
SAT total139014421520
SAT reading & writing690720750
SAT math700760790
ACT composite3132.334
ACT math293235
ACT English323435

Submitted SAT: 43% · Submitted ACT: 14% of enrolled first-years

High-school GPA

This college does not report GPA in its Common Data Set.

Deadlines (2026-27 cycle)

  1. Nov 1, 2026Early Action[5]
    Decision: Jan 29, 2027
    All required materials due by Nov 7.
  2. Jan 5, 2027Regular Decision[5]
    Decision: Feb 26, 2027
    All required materials due by Jan 11.
  3. May 1, 2027Enrollment depositdeposit[5]

English proficiency (international applicants)

Required for non-native speakers[3]

Required if you did not complete grades 10–12 in an approved English-speaking country and do not report SAT/ACT; strongly encouraged even when reporting SAT/ACT. Cannot be waived. No published first-year minimum; subscores considered.

TestMinimumRecommendedNotes
TOEFL iBT[3]——No published first-year minimum (transfer minimum: 100, subscores 20+). MyBest not accepted.
TOEFL iBT (1–6 scale, from Jan 2026)[3]——Transfer minimum 5.0 with subscores 4.5+.
IELTS Academic[3]——Academic or Indicator. Transfer minimum 7.5 (subscores 6.5+).
Duolingo English Test[3]——Admitted class profile ranges ~130–145 by college. Transfer minimum 130 (subscores 125+).

TOEFL iBT moved to a 1–6 scale on Jan 21, 2026; schools list both scales.

Application requirements

Cost & aid (2025-2026)

Tuition (in-state)
$12,992
Tuition (out-of-state)
$33,344
Tuition (international)
$34,338
Required fees
$5,054
Housing & food
$15,184
For international students
Merit aid only

Base tuition; many majors (engineering, business, CS) carry differential tuition. H6: only non-need-based (merit) institutional aid for nonresidents.

Source[1]

Subject tiers & how majors are admitted

SComputer Science
SEngineering
ABusiness
BBiology / Life Sci
BPre-Med
BEconomics
AMath / Physics
B

What the admissions office weighs (CDS C7, 2025-2026)

Very important
  • Rigor of HS record
  • Academic GPA
  • Extracurriculars
  • Talent / ability
  • Character
  • First generation
Important
  • Essay
Considered
  • Test scores
  • Geography
  • State residency
  • Volunteer work
  • Work experience
Not considered
  • Class rank
  • Recommendations
  • Interview
  • Alumni relation
  • Religious affiliation
  • Demonstrated interest

Sources

  1. [1]University of Illinois Common Data Set 2025-26 (xlsx)accessed Oct 20, 2026
  2. [2]Illinois — How to Apply: First-Yearaccessed Oct 20, 2026
  3. [3]Illinois — General Admission Policies (English competence)accessed Oct 20, 2026
  4. [4]Illinois — International Requirementsaccessed Oct 20, 2026
  5. [5]Illinois — First-Year Dates & Deadlinesaccessed Oct 20, 2026
← All colleges
Platform
Common App
Application fee
$75 (waiver available)
Essays
—
Recommendations
—
Interview
—
Portfolio
—

Self-report highest ACT composite / SAT total; official scores only if you enroll.

2026-27 cycle[2]

Humanities
BArts / Design
—Nursing
  • Computer Science (Grainger)Computer ScienceCapped
    Admitted directly to the major · Switching in later: Very hard
    Also CS + X programs in other colleges.
  • Engineering (Grainger)EngineeringCapped
    Admitted directly to the major · Switching in later: Hard
  • Gies BusinessBusinessCapped
    Admitted directly to the major · Switching in later: Hard

Tiers and major-admission summaries are an editorial v0 — review before relying on them.