CCollege Tracker
CollegesCompareMy listProfilePricing
Get started

Data comes from official Common Data Sets and admissions websites. Always confirm on the college's own site before applying.

A

University of Michigan–Ann Arbor

Ann Arbor, MI · Public · suburban · semester calendar

Website ↗Admissions ↗
Add your scores on the Colleges page to see your fit.
Admit rate
16.4%
17,915 of 109,112
ED admit rate
—
not reported
International admit rate
—
not reported
Undergraduates
35,358
7.5% international
Student : faculty
15 : 1
Waitlist
1,663 admitted
of 24,447 offered

Common Data Set 2025-2026[1] · Fall 2025 cycle: EA closed 11/1 (notification by 1/31), RD 2/1, no ED — ED was added for 2026-27. Portfolio required for Art, Architecture and Ross; some Music/Theatre/Dance and Engineering applicants may be interviewed.

Test scores (enrolled first-years)

Test recommendedfor 2026-27 applicants[1]

CDS C8A (Fall 2027): SAT or ACT recommended; scores due by 2/1.

Test25th50th75th
SAT total137014701530
SAT reading & writing690730750
SAT math680740780
ACT composite323334
ACT math303335
ACT English333535

Submitted SAT: 55% · Submitted ACT: 18% of enrolled first-years

High-school GPA

Average (CDS C12)
3.90
Estimated 25th / 50th / 75th*
3.84 / 3.95 / 4.00
4.0
38.8%
3.75-3.99
55.1%
3.50-3.74
4.8%
3.25-3.49
0.7%
3.00-3.24
0.4%
2.50-2.99
0.2%

*The CDS does not publish GPA percentiles; estimated from the C11 band distribution. 98% of enrolled students reported a GPA.

Deadlines (2026-27 cycle)

  1. Nov 1, 2026Early Decision[2]
    Decision: Dec 24, 2026
    New binding plan. Commitment Jan 6. CSS Profile + FAFSA by Nov 15.
  2. Nov 1, 2026Early Action[2]
    Decision: Jan 29, 2027
    Decision by Jan 29.
  3. Nov 15, 2026ED financial aid deadlineEDfinancial aid[2]
  4. Dec 15, 2026Suggested aid filing date (EA/RD)financial aid[2]

English proficiency (international applicants)

Required for non-native speakers[3]

Exempt with SAT ERW ≥650 or ACT Reading & English ≥27 plus four recent years of study in listed English-speaking countries.

TestMinimumRecommendedNotes
TOEFL iBT[3]—100
Subscores: reading 23+, writing 21+, speaking 21+, listening 23+
Published as a general score range, not a hard minimum
TOEFL iBT (1–6 scale, from Jan 2026)[3]—5
Subscores: each section 5+
5–6 range (CEFR C1)
IELTS Academic[3]—7
Subscores: each band 6.5+
PTE Academic[3]—68
Cambridge C1/C2 (scale)[3]—185C1 Advanced / C2 Proficiency

Cost & aid (2026-2027)

Tuition (in-state)
$18,402
Tuition (out-of-state)
$66,602
Required fees
$494
International fee
$1,000
Housing & food
$17,220
For international students
No institutional aid

CDS G1 lower-division column (upper-division: $19,588 in-state / $68,953 out-of-state). H6: institutional scholarship/grant aid NOT available to nonresidents.

Source[1]

Subject tiers & how majors are admitted

AComputer Science
AEngineering
SBusiness
ABiology / Life Sci
APre-Med
AEconomics
AMath / Physics
A

What the admissions office weighs (CDS C7, 2025-2026)

Very important
  • Rigor of HS record
  • Academic GPA
Important
  • Test scores
  • Essay
  • Recommendations
  • Character
  • First generation
Considered
  • Extracurriculars
  • Talent / ability
  • Geography
  • State residency
  • Volunteer work
  • Work experience
  • Demonstrated interest
Not considered
  • Class rank
  • Interview
  • Alumni relation
  • Religious affiliation

Tip Demonstrated interest counts here — visit, attend info sessions, and open their emails.

Sources

  1. [1]University of Michigan Common Data Set 2025-26accessed Oct 20, 2026
  2. [2]U-M — First-year Application Plansaccessed Oct 20, 2026
  3. [3]U-M — Exams & Visasaccessed Oct 20, 2026
  4. [4]Score-reporting codes (admissions.umich.edu)accessed Oct 20, 2026
  5. [5]Score-reporting codes (teamdynamix.umich.edu)accessed Oct 20, 2026
← All colleges
Feb 1, 2027
Regular Decision
[2]
Decision: Apr 2, 2027
Decision by April 2.
  • Mar 1, 2027Financial aid deadline (EA/RD)financial aid[2]
  • Subscores: each section 180+

    TOEFL iBT moved to a 1–6 scale on Jan 21, 2026; schools list both scales.

    Application requirements

    Platform
    Common App
    Application fee
    $75 (waiver available)
    Essays
    —
    Recommendations
    —
    Interview
    —
    Portfolio
    Required for Art & Design, Architecture; Ross also requires additional materials
    Aid forms
    CSS Profile + FAFSA

    2026-27 cycle[2]

    Humanities
    BArts / Design
    ANursing
    • Ross BBABusinessCapped
      Admitted to a school / college · Switching in later: Very hard
      Apply directly to Ross as a first-year.
    • Engineering (incl. CS-Eng)EngineeringCapped
      Admitted to a school / college · Switching in later: Hard
    • LSA (incl. CS-LSA)Computer Science
      Admitted to a school / college · Switching in later: Moderate
    • NursingNursingCapped
      Admitted directly to the major · Switching in later: Very hard

    Tiers and major-admission summaries are an editorial v0 — review before relying on them.